Nudging u to better health


          Follow Me on Pinterest     

Healthy Eating

  Favourite Add to favourites  Print Print this page




Healthy eating is important if we want to look after our bodies and make sure we have a good balanced diet. Eating is a very enjoyable part of our life. It doesn't mean you have to give up all the nice food that you like such as sweets, chocolate and cheese. It just means getting the right balance.  

There are many different types of food and all of them provide essential nutrients and vitamins to make the body work. Whilst many people turn to diets in order to reduce the weight, these are often short lived and do not necessarily change our long term behaviour and habits. For the majority of people this means that any weight lost is quickly regained as people revert to their old eating habits.

Eatwell Plate

The Balance of Good Health is a pictorial food guide showing the proportion and types of foods that are needed to make up a healthy balanced diet. The Balance of Good Health has been produced by the Food Standards Agency as a guide that aims to help people to understand and enjoy healthy eating. It is achieving the right balance and variety of foods that is important for health.

The types of food we eat can be divided into several categories; milk and dairy foods; meat, fish and alternatives; foods containing fat and foods containing sugar. Foods from the largest groups should be eaten most often and foods from the smallest group should be eaten least often. The guide is shaped like a dinner plate which has been designed to make it easier for people to understand the proportion of foods needed.

Fruit and vegetables - These types of food are very important in our diet. The Department of Health recommends that we eat at least 5 portions of fruit and vegetables every day so that we reduce the risk of getting heart disease and some cancers.

Bread, cereals and potatoes - These types of food are known as starchy foods and should make up a large part of our diet. We must be careful though, because if we add oil to fry food like chips or lots of butter to bread we increase the fat content. These types of foods include; bread, rolls, pizza, pasta, rice, oats and noodles

Milk and dairy products - These types of foods contain calcium, which is vital for keeping our bones strong and healthy. These foods include Milk, cheese and yoghurt.

Meat and fish - These foods provide plenty of protein which is needed for growth and repairing the body. These types of foods include beef, pork, ham, lamb, chicken and fish.